Facebook icon Twitter icon Forward icon

Photo of the Week


"How shall we know it is us without our past?"
- John Steinbeck

by Wendy Polhemus-Annibell, Head Librarian

Daily Mirror Map of Sound Beach, c. 1930. (From the Collection of the Suffolk County Historical Society Library Archives. Image copyright © Suffolk County Historical Society. All rights reserved.)

Sound Beach came about in the late 1920s as a result of a newspaper's strategy to boost its circulation numbers. The NYC-based Daily Mirror purchased over a thousand acres in Sound Beach in 1928, and the following year began advertising 20 x 100-foot lots for $89.50. The only requirements were a $12.50 down payment, a monthly payment of $3.50 until the loan was paid off, and maintaining a one-year renewable subscription to the newspaper. Buyers showed up and purchased the 2,000-square-foot lots by the Sound; some pitched tents and erected outhouses on their newly purchased lots until they were able to build their summer cottages. They got by without electricity or running water at first. After World War II, most of the original Sound Beach summer cottages were converted to year-round homes. 

To view this map or any of the many other historic maps in our library collection, stop by during operating hours, Wednesday through Saturday,12:30 - 4:30 pm. No appointment is necessary. A certified librarian is always available to assist you with your local history and family research. For more information, visit our website or call us at 631-727-2881 x103.


The Suffolk County Historical Society’s PHOTO OF THE WEEK Series is created by librarian Wendy Polhemus-Annibell using historic primary source materials from our local history library’s extensive archives. To subscribe, visit our website or send an email request to Wendy at wannibell@schs-museum.org.

Interested in seeing more historical photos from the Collection of the Suffolk County Historical Society? Spend an afternoon at our Local History Library perusing our extensive archival photography collections. We're open Weds. - Sat., 12:30 - 4:30 PM.

To view our Photo of the Week archives, visit our website at www.SuffolkCountyHistoricalSociety.org.

Suffolk County Pine Barrens Exhibit Tours

The Suffolk County Water Authority Education Center will hold special tours of the Suffolk County Pine Barrens Exhibit, on loan from the Suffolk County Historical Society. The educational exhibit provides an overview of the Pine Barrens and the critical role this region plays in the protection of our county's precious groundwater. The tours will be held on July 20 and August 17, and will also include an interactive water workshop and a fun quiz game for kids. The SCWA Education Center is located at 260 Motor Pkwy in Hauppauge. Call 631-292-6565 or email EdCenterTours@SCWA.com for more information. 

If you've been enjoying our Photo of the Week, please consider becoming a member of SCHS.

From the Civil War to civil rights, revolutions to restorations, spies to suffragists, boatbuilders to bootleggers, and whalers to wineries, Long Island's history comes alive at the Suffolk County Historical Society!

The Suffolk County Historical Society, founded in 1886, collects and preserves the rich history of Suffolk County and beyond. We offer a history museum, art galleries, a research library and archives, and a multitude of exhibits, programs, and educational lectures and workshops year-round. Our unique collections reflect more than three centuries of Long Island history. Click here to learn about Member Benefits!


Copyright © 2017 Suffolk County Historical Society. All rights reserved. No part of this electronic document may be reproduced in any form without the written permission of the Suffolk County Historical Society.