Like Tweet Forward


East Malvern Tennis Club was named the “Most Outstanding Tennis Club in Australia” (presented by Medibank) at last night’s Newcombe Medal Awards at Crown Palladium.

Our Club was one of three finalists and the achievement would not have been possible without the support and contribution of you, our members, along with Stonnington Council which pitched in to help it improve our facilities. Also, the backing of our Club’s inaugural sponsors including Marshall White, Bank of Melbourne and Penfold Audi was key to this success.  We have also received wonderful ongoing support from our Tennis Victoria Participation Leader, Jamie Stefanato.

East Malvern TC  is the largest community club in Victoria with nearly 1200 members and a  proud 130-year history.  Our club has 10 courts, 112 competition teams in 2016 and over 450 players each week receiving coaching.

We have a welcoming culture with wonderful operations people and volunteers. In the last twelve months we have worked hard on developing a strategic plan and to improve facilities for our members and guests. This has included upgrading court  surfaces, new LED floodlighting, repairing the pool and installing solar heating, fencing and general surrounds. With the help of key stakeholders, the council and sponsors, we plan to continue to improve the aging facilities. Our next objective is to secure funding to replace the Clubhouse which was built in 1958 and requires a significant upgrade befitting the Club’s contribution to the community.

Along with a beautiful trophy EMTC recieved a $25,000 grant from Tennis Australia to further develop tennis in our community. 

Seven Committee members and Wes from Futures attended the awards night, along with Jordan Kealey.   Jordan did a fantastic job, with Ian, creating a video that went with our nomination.

Links to watch are:
1. Nomination video :  
2. Award announcement & acceptance: 
3. Awards Night (3.5hrs):

Jordan with Lleyton Hewitt

We caught up with Newk before the ceremony

Tennis stars at the Awards

John Newcombe, Jordan & Dylan Alcott

The trophy

Ralph & Wes on the blue carpet