Facebook icon Twitter icon Forward icon

Photo of the Week


"How shall we know it is us without our past?"
- John Steinbeck

by Wendy Polhemus-Annibell, Head Librarian

Arden Craig Inn, Port Jefferson. (Image from the Collection of the Suffolk County Historical Society Library Archives. Copyright Suffolk County Historical Society. All rights reserved.)

Thomas Smith erected the original structure in 1870 on what is now the northeast corner of Main Street and Arden Place in the village of Port Jefferson. His daughter Lizzie enlarged the hotel and helped make Lizzie Smith's Hotel, as it was called at the time, one of the most popular spots in the village.

In 1908, the hotel was purchased by William Thompson, who enlarged it significantly and renamed it the Arden Craig Inn (or Ardencraig Inn). Known for its excellent cuisine and comfortable accommodations, the inn was very popular with yachtsmen visiting the village. The hotel was destroyed by fire in 1920, and was replaced by a series of businesses, including a bowling alley, a car dealership, and a supermarket, among others.

Exhibit Opening Reception: Join us on Saturday, July 15, 1:00 p.m., for the opening of a new exhibition, On This Site: The Indigenous People of Suffolk County, an art-based photography exhibit by Shinnecock artist Jeremy Dennis that aims to create awareness of and help preserve culturally significant and sacred Native American sites in Suffolk County. Admission is free to all. Complimentary wine & cheese will be served. On exhibit July 15 - Sept. 30, 2017.

Upcoming BOOK & BOTTLE Lectures at SCHS

July 27: Jeremy Dennis, Indigenous People of the Twin Forks
Aug. 24: William Konstant, Recovery of the Bald Eagle
Oct. 7: Bob Giffen, One Little River & Sportsmen's Club
Nov. 2:  Kerriann Brosky, Historic Crimes of Long Island

Call 631-727-2881 x100 to Register!

Suffolk County Pine Barrens Exhibit Tours

The Suffolk County Water Authority Education Center will hold special tours of the Suffolk County Pine Barrens Exhibit, on loan from the Suffolk County Historical Society. The educational exhibit provides an overview of the Pine Barrens and the critical role this region plays in the protection of our county's precious groundwater. The tours will be held on July 20 and August 17, at 12 noon and 1:00 pm, and will also include an interactive water workshop and a fun quiz game for kids. The SCWA Education Center is located at 260 Motor Pkwy in Hauppauge. Call 631-292-6565 or email EdCenterTours@SCWA.com for more information. 


The Suffolk County Historical Society’s PHOTO OF THE WEEK Series is created by librarian Wendy Polhemus-Annibell using historic primary source materials from our local history library’s extensive archives. To subscribe, visit our website or send an email request to Wendy at wannibell@schs-museum.org.

Interested in seeing more historical photos from the Collection of the Suffolk County Historical Society? Spend an afternoon at our Local History Library perusing our extensive archival photography collections. We're open Weds. - Sat., 12:30 - 4:30 PM.

To view our Photo of the Week archives, visit our website at www.SuffolkCountyHistoricalSociety.org.

If you've been enjoying our Photo of the Week, please consider becoming a member of SCHS.

From the Civil War to civil rights, revolutions to restorations, spies to suffragists, boatbuilders to bootleggers, and whalers to wineries, Long Island's history comes alive at the Suffolk County Historical Society!

The Suffolk County Historical Society, founded in 1886, collects and preserves the rich history of Suffolk County and beyond. We offer a history museum, art galleries, a research library and archives, and a multitude of exhibits, programs, and educational lectures and workshops year-round. Our unique collections reflect more than three centuries of Long Island history. Click here to learn about Member Benefits!


Copyright © 2017 Suffolk County Historical Society. All rights reserved. No part of this electronic document may be reproduced in any form without the written permission of the Suffolk County Historical Society.