Like Tweet Forward

EMTC Board of Directors - Call for Nominations 2016-17

Dear Members,
It is time to hold our second AGM as an Association Incorporated body, under our new Constitution. 

The AGM will be held on Sunday 16th October 2016 at 5:30pm in the Club rooms.

If you are considering putting your name down to join the Board, you will need to complete a  2016/17 Director Nomination Form:

Please Note: The completed form must be returned by Tuesday 13th September 2016.

To facilitate the voting process (if required), we will circulate all written nominations and bios, with the Agenda, prior to the AGM so you are fully informed.

The year has flown by and we have continued to be productive. Our proactive approach with Stonnington Council has reaped significant rewards. John McMorrow and others have assisted us enormously with our securing much needing funding. This is a first for us and means we can replace our out-dated and inadequate lights. I would like to thank Julie and Deb in particular for their efforts. The three of us have exceeded our expectations. The Council contribution of $100,000 is gratefully received.

We have maintained our valuable relationships with Sponsors, Federal and State Government, as well as Tennis Australia and Victoria. We continue to work side by side with Futures Tennis Academy to promote EMTC to new members.  I am convinced the Club has benefited enormously from having a stable and focussed Committee.

We are very pleased to be working with our brilliant sponsors: Bank of Melbourne, Marshall White Armadale and Audi Penfold Burwood. Not to forget our local sponsor: Malvern East Physiotherapy and Sunlover Heating. Continued thanks to Paul Lidgerwood.

I want to thank Chris Woods, Rohan Appleton and Ian Fuelscher for their tireless work, around Competition Tennis. They have been ably assisted by Peter Car, Alan Young, Tom Lidgerwood and the EMTC community. I would encourage all of you to consider playing competition. My only concern is that the team has been so successful we are running out of courts. We do hold some home games at other local courts. This allows every team to have two courts on the Night/Day.

Our courts are playing well. We need to keep up a high level of maintenance, as is the way with our surface. Rohan Appleton and Robin Borchard continue to do a brilliant job, as they do with general maintenance.

The Lights are under control, next is our Clubhouse. This is a massive undertaking over the next 5 years or more.

Once again, I want to acknowledge Deb in her role of bringing the pieces together.  We still need an assistant for her. While she does an amazing job, there are things we want to add.

There are five positions (out of nine) up for election at this AGM.  (As per our new Constitution, the other four will be up again at next years' AGM.)

  • Vice President:  Chris Woods is standing again for this role.
  • Treasurer:  Andrew McVean is standing for this role.
  • Director 1: Rohan Appleton  is standing again for this role.
  • Director 2:  Julie Kealey is standing again for this role.
  • Director 3: Paul Lidgerwood is standing again for this role.

If you believe you can add to the skills and expertise of the current committee, and have the time, passion and drive to contribute to the Club please nominate for one, or more, of these positions.  As per the Nomination Form we need a brief statement of your interest and experience with EMTC and Committees generally, as well as the skills and attributes you would bring to the next Committee.

Kind Regards,
Ralph Muir-Morris
East Malvern Tennis Club