Facebook icon Twitter icon Forward icon

Photo of the Week


"How shall we know it is us without our past?"
- John Steinbeck

by Wendy Polhemus-Annibell, Librarian

Fort Salonga, 1903: Wooded Slope, Trout Stream, and Cows Drinking, by Hal B. Fullerton. (Image from the Collection of the Suffolk County Historical Society Library Archives [149.7.831]. Copyright © Suffolk County Historical Society. All rights reserved.)

The hamlet known today as Fort Salonga was established by way of a deeded property from Sarah Smith, wife of Richard Smith, to her son Daniel in 1695. The deed identified 100 acres at the western part of Smithtown, near the border with Huntington, in an area then named Fresh Pond. Maps from the time period also refer to the area as Middleville, Meadow Glen, or Tredwell's Neck. In the late 1690s, rumors spread that Captain Kidd's ship, the Adventure Galley, had been seen off Tredwell's Neck, and on some old maps one can find a spot marked "Kidd's Money Hole." Rumors still exist that a pirate's treasure may be buried on the beach in Fort Salonga.

During the American Revolution, the British established a fortification at Tredwell’s Neck called Fort Slongo, named after one of the fort’s architects. This name shifted to Fort Salonga sometime in the 1800s.

Suggested Reading: Smithtown, New York, 1660-1929: Looking Back Through the Lens, by Noel J. Gish, 1996.

Join us on Thurs., March 2, 6:00 pm for a Closing Reception & Curator's Talk, Fullerton from the Photographer's Perspective. This is the last chance to view Fullerton's Long Island, our display of historic photographs of Long Island from our legendary Fullerton Collection. Free admission + wine and cheese. RSVP: 631-727-2881 x100.


The Suffolk County Historical Society’s PHOTO OF THE WEEK Series is created by librarian Wendy Polhemus-Annibell using historic primary source materials from our local history library’s extensive archives. To subscribe, visit our website or send an email request to Wendy at wannibell@schs-museum.org.

Interested in seeing more historical photos from the Collection of the Suffolk County Historical Society? Spend an afternoon at our Local History Library perusing our extensive archival photography collections. We're open Weds. - Sat., 12:30 - 4:30 PM.

If you've been enjoying our Photo of the Week, please consider becoming a member of SCHS.

From the Civil War to civil rights, revolutions to restorations, spies to Suffragettes, boatbuilders to bootleggers, and whalers to wineries, Long Island's history comes alive at the Suffolk County Historical Society!

The Suffolk County Historical Society, founded in 1886, collects and preserves the rich history of Suffolk County and beyond. We offer a history museum, art galleries, a research library and archives, and a multitude of exhibits, programs, and educational lectures and workshops year-round. Our unique collections reflect more than three centuries of Long Island history. Click here to learn about Member Benefits!


Copyright © 2017 Suffolk County Historical Society. All rights reserved. No part of this electronic document may be reproduced in any form without the written permission of the Suffolk County Historical Society.

The Suffolk County Historical Society is a private non-profit organization and an Authorized Agency of Suffolk County.  Public funding provided by Suffolk County.