Um Logo
November 19, 2013

November 22
AIA Miami Chapter 59th Annual Design Awards Gala at the Miami Center for Architecture & Design (MCAD) with Student Exhibit, Refreshments, Design & Honor Awards Presentation including the UM Student of the Year (winners announced next week).  Students $35; AIAS members $25. 
100 N.E. 1st Avenue, Downtown Miami; 6:00 p.m.

MCAD is located in the remodeled U.S. Post Office in Downtown Miami (1914).  Visit AIA-Miami for more information.

November 21
The New Face of Community: the German reinvention of co-housing and its opportunities for South Florida. Presentation and panel discussion with Kristien Ring from the German Foundation for Building Culture, author of Self-Made City, and SOA Professor Eric Firley as moderator.  Presented by AIA Miami, UM School of Architecture, and UM Office of Civic & Community Engagement. 

Historic site J.W. Warner House (built 1912), 111 S.W. 5th Avenue, Miami; 6:00 p.m.  Space is limited, rsvp required.

November 21 
The Design for Habitat Homes for Greater Miami Architectural Competition
is a collaboration between Habitat Young Professionals of Greater Miami, FIU and members of SOA student organizations.  Seminars on needs for Habitat homes and the design competition with a first prize of $750 are continuing with this third in the series on “Accessibility Design in Affordable Housing.” 

Florida International University College of Architecture, the Arts Paul Cejas Architecture Building (PCA); 5:00 p.m.

November 13
Sea Level Rise – It’s a Community Thing: Miami as a Climate Resilient City presented a panel of speakers and the results of the Miami Resiliency CompetitioninKorach Gallery last week. A standing-room-only group of students and interested citizens filled the room for the discussion on Sea Level Rise and its impact on our community, what’s being done and what is yet to be conceived. 

Sponsors of the event included AIA Miami, UM and the Good Government Initiative; organizers were SOA’s US Green Building leaders Lora Shea, Isaac Stein, Laura Greenberg and Jonas Doggart. Read more.

Winners for the Little Havana Site were Maria Eduarda Oliviera, Katja Kuznik, Nicolas Delgado Alcega, Migxuan Qin; Honorable Mention Smitha Vasan, Fadak Dashti, Mary Wissinger and Corey Weiss, Jessica Stefanick, Sebastian Torrente, Lacey Stansell and Amand Ai, Danielle Todd, Alexandra Babowice, and Jaimie McPhedren.

Winners for the Overtown Site were Jiajing Cao and Isabel Sarmiento; Honorable Mention Stephanie Riofrio, Gerardo Delgadillo, Ariana Melendez, John Gonzalez, Matthew Smith, Rhys Gilbertson, Ebrahim Alkalifa and Erron Estado. 

The competition boards will be on display in the UC Breezeway this week.

November 20:  Visiting Critic Sara Caples’ lecture Artist < = > Architect has been postponed until further notice.

December 3-13:  School of Architecture Fall 2013 Final Reviews. 

December 12-18:  Fall Semester 2013 Final Exams.

Send event information for the next weekly issue to

University of Miami School of Architecture, 1223 Dickinson Drive, Coral Gables, FL 33146,