National 23 January 2018
Dear Member,

Welcome to the 1st issue for 2018 of ASMS Direct, our national electronic publication.

You can also keep in touch with the latest news and views on health issues relevant to public hospital specialists via our website, which contains links (at the top of the home page) to our Facebook and LinkedIn pages, as well as our quarterly magazine The Specialist. We’re also on Twitter at

Call for nominations for National Executive positions

Nominations are now open for the triennial elections for the National Executive of the Association of Salaried Medical Specialists (ASMS). You will have received the ASMS Special Circular by post in December, this is a reminder to enter your nominations by 23 February 2018.

Nominations are called for the following national officers of the Association:
President and Vice-President

Nominations are also called for two representatives for each of the following regions:

Region 1 Members employed within the boundaries of the following district health boards – Northland, Waitemata, Auckland and Counties Manukau;

Region 2 Members employed within the boundaries of the following district health boards – Waikato, Bay of Plenty, Lakes and Taranaki;

Region 3 Members employed within the boundaries of the following district health boards – Tairawhiti, Hawke’s Bay, Whanganui, MidCentral, Wairarapa, Hutt Valley and Capital & Coast;

Region 4 Members employed within the boundaries of the following district health boards – Nelson Marlborough, West Coast, Canterbury, South Canterbury and Southern.

Please note that the reference to the regional boundaries of the district health boards is geographic only. Members employed by district health boards and other employers (eg, ACC, Family Planning Association, community trusts, union health centres, and hospices) are covered by geographic boundaries for the purpose of electing regional National Executive representatives.

The Returning Officer is Dr John MacDonald.

The address for nominations is:

Mail: ASMS PO Box 10 763, WELLINGTON.


Fax: 04 499 4500 

The closing date for nominations is Friday 23 February 2018. Nominations must be received by the Returning Officer by that day at the latest. Nominations received after that date will be declared invalid.

All nominations must be in writing and shall be signed by the nominator, seconder and nominee, with the full names of the nominator, seconder and nominee to be printed in a legible way alongside or below the respective signatures. Nominees must declare whether or not they are members of the Association and all nominators and seconders must be financial members of the Association at the time the nomination is received by the Returning Officer.

Nominees are encouraged to provide a one-page statement about their candidature for circulation in any subsequent ballot but this is not obligatory.

In the event of nominations exceeding positions, the Returning Officer shall immediately hold a postal ballot; voting papers to be circulated in February 2018, with a closing date for votes of Tuesday 27 March 2018, at 4:30pm.

The new National Executive will take office on Wednesday 1 April for a three-year term. The first meeting of the new Executive will be a two-day meeting held in Wellington on 11-12 April 2018 (Wednesday-Thursday).

Nomination forms can be found here:


Kind regards

Angela Belich
Deputy Executive Director