Corrected Announcement Regarding Board of Directors and Award Winners


The 22nd annual NWT Tourism Conference and Annual General Meeting was held in Yellowknife, Northwest Territories from November 6-8, 2018.

Speakers inspired delegates to think about changes, challenges and opportunities for the tourism industry in the NWT and how to navigate those changes and challenges and pursue new opportunities in the year ahead. 

We apologize that the notice issued earlier today did not include all award winners and all members on the Board of Directors.  This is the corrected copy.


At the Gala Dinner and Awards, the 2018 Industry Awards were announced as follows:

GNWT Parks Hospitality Award: Bruce Davidson, Camp Attendant at Prelude Lake Territorial Park

Service Excellence Award: Bill Braden, Guide for My Backyard Tours

Operator of the Year: Yellowknife Sportfishing Adventures

Lifetime Achievement Award: Neil Hartling of Nahanni River Adventures and Canadian River Expeditions, acknowledging 30+ years of a positive legacy and significant contribution to NWT’s growing tourism industry.

Outstanding Service Award: Alex Hall, owner of Canoe Arctic recognizing more than 40 years of outstanding commitment and service to tourists and residents through
spectacular paddling and outdoor adventures
delivered in the Northwest Territories. 


Four Directors were elected to the Board. Those elected include:

Verda Law (Yellowknife Tours)
Cathy Allooloo (Narwal Northern Adventures)
Harold Grinde (Gana River Outfitters)
Dan Wong (Jackpine Paddle)

The new Board of Directors is noted below.

Board Executive:
Susan Wright - Chairperson
North-Wright Airways

Harold Grinde - Vice Chairperson
Gana River Outfitters

Verda Law - Treasurer
Yellowknife Tours

Gail Quinn - Secretary
Canadian North

Dan Wong
Jackpine Paddle

Cathy Allooloo
Narwal Northern Adventures

Kylik Kisoun-Taylor
Tundra North Tours

Tracy St. Denis - Director Ex-Officio
GNWT - Department of Industry, Tourism & Investment

James Marlowe –  Director
Akaitcho Territory Government

Joy O'Neill  –  Director
Gwich'in Tribal Council

Giselle Marion –  Director
Tlicho Government

Gerry Kisoun - Director
Inuvialuit Regional Corporation

Paul Harrington - Director
NWT Metis Nation

Judith Wright-Bird  –  Director
Sahtu Secretariat

Jonah Mitchell - Director Ex-Officio
Parks Canada

Liza McPherson - Director 
Dehcho First Nations 

For more information or photos, please contact:

Julie Warnock                     or         Cathie Bolstad
Communications Officer                 Chief Executive Officer
NWT Tourism                                  NWT Tourism

Tel:  867-873-5007  Ext. 1006       867-873-5007 Ext. 1005