Facebook icon Twitter icon Forward icon

Stay in Touch

Take a few minutes and update your contact information with us online.

Committee Seeks Nominations for Alumni Board

It is that time of the year when the Alumni Board nominating committee finishes up nominations for next year’s board.

We always look for a diverse group to help reach out to our alumni. We will announce the new board at the alumni luncheon in June.

If you are interested in being on the board, contact the Alumni and Development office at 501.324.9967. 

Alumni and Development Welcome Student Intern

The Alumni and Development Office is excited to welcome Abtin Mehdizadegan as an intern in the office for the spring semester.

Abtin is a third-year law student and is graduating this May. Currently, he serves as the editor-in-chief of the Law Review and is a member of the school’s Trial Competition Team.

After graduation, Abtin will be joining Cross, Gunter, Witherspoon & Galchus as an associate attorney, where he hopes to build an employment and labor law practice. During the semester, Abtin will work with the office on various alumni outreach projects and will also work to plan the Law Review’s 35th Anniversary Reception.

Alumni Basketball Event Sells Out

Response to the invitation for the Bowen Alumni Basketball Game has been overwhelming. We are sold out. If you didn’t get a ticket to this Alumni event, mark your calendars for alumni night at Dickey-Stephens April 20.

Mid-year Luncheon a Success

This year’s Bowen luncheon during the Arkansas Bar Mid-year meeting was a great success.

Dean Paula Casey updated 25 alumni on the school, upcoming events, and newly appointed Dean Michael Schwartz.

If you couldn’t make it to this event, make sure and join us in June for the annual luncheon at the yearly meeting in Hot Springs. This year, the lunch is planned for June 13.

Time to Register for Bowen 5K

The 2013 Bowen 5k Run/Walk will be held at 9 a.m. Feb. 23 at the Bowen School of Law to raise money to benefit the Arkansas Judges & Lawyers Assistance Program (JLAP), which provides quality cost-free counseling services to Arkansas judges, lawyers, and their families. 

These support services have recently been extended to include law students whom face these same issues as they obtain their legal education. JLAP services address a range of health and personal issues, such as alcoholism, substance abuse, depression, anxiety, and anger management, among other issues that professionals in the legal field may face. 

Registration for students is only $25; general registration is $30.  Registration fee includes a T-shirt. Following the race, medals will be given for top qualifiers in several divisions, as well as a drawing for prizes.

Cast Your Vote in the NLJ Survey

The National Law Journal has launched a “Best of NLJ” survey focusing in part on law schools/legal education. Voting is quick and easy and is open to anyone who wishes to express an opinion.

To begin the process, visit the NLJ survey site and enter your contact information on the first page. You may then either answer each of the questions in the early sections of the survey, or you may progress directly to question 57, which begins the section on legal education.

You can vote (write-in) for the best law school in the U.S., as well as the best law school clinical program. In addition, you may also write in a nomination for Best Joint JD/MBA program.

Voting will close Feb. 10. The winners will be announced in a special NLJ supplement on March 25.


CLE – The JOBS Act: Rule 506 (Old and New) and Crowdfunding with Professor Frances Fendler, noon to 1 p.m. Friday, Feb. 22

CLE – Arkansas Law of Privacy with Professor Lyn Entrikin, noon to 1 p.m., Friday, March 8

Law Review 35th Anniversary Reception – March 28

Alumni Baseball Game at Dickey-Stephens Park, sponsored by Taylor & Taylor Law Firm, April 20

Washington, D.C. Alumni Event, Sponsored by Randi Hutchinson, ’00, and the Honorable Tim Hutchinson, April 11

RSVP to Amy Jackson.


  • Robert S. Moore, '73, was named to the Arkansas Highway Commission.
  • Will Feland, '78, was appointed to the 23rd Judicial District Court, 2nd Division.
  • Kay Kelley Arnold, '81, was chosen chair of the Little Rock Municipal Airport Commission.
  • Scotty Shively, '81, and Amber Bagley, '04, were recognized in the 2012 Mid-South Super Lawyers directory. Shively was listed in the alternative dispute resolution category, and Bagley was listed as a rising star.
  • Professor Ranko Shiraki Oliver, '87, and Christina Monterrey,'06, were named to El Latino's Who's Who 2013 list.
  • Jennifer Wethington Merritt, '02, was promoted to membership at Quattlebaum, Grooms, Tull & Burrow, PLLC.
  • Michael Hoyt, '06, was appointed Daphne, Ala., Municipal Court’s next municipal judge.
  • Christina Monterrey, '06, and Leo Monterrey, '07, gave birth to their first child, Catalina Leonor, on Jan. 2. Catalina weighed 5 pounds, 8 ounces, and was 18 and a half inches long.  
  • Jonathan R. Shulan, '10, was named an associate at Armstrong Teasdale, LLP in St. Louis.