Facebook icon Twitter icon Forward icon

For Immediate Release

Announcing 2019 BC Care Awards winners

Burnaby, B.C. (January 9, 2019) – After receiving a record number of nominations from care providers across the province, BC Care Providers Association (BCCPA) is today announcing the winners of the 6th Annual BC Care Awards. These awards recognize the very best among thousands of dedicated and compassionate employees who are making a difference in the lives of British Columbia seniors in care every day.

BC Care Awards go to winners in the categories of workplace "safety champion," as well as care providers of the year in home health, long-term care care, and for the first year ever, assisted living. The fifth and final category – the Ed Helfrich Long Service Award – goes to recognize longstanding leadership in the seniors’ care sector.

"BCCPA is proud to recognize the health care workers who provide exemplary care to B.C. seniors every day," says BCCPA CEO Daniel Fontaine. "Due to the fact we received a record number of nominations from colleagues and supervisors – who shared stories of exceptional work ethic, kindness and leadership – choosing the winners was doubly difficult.

"These winners demonstrate that seniors care is more than just a job for many, but a true calling. Their accomplishments are an inspiration to all of us who work for, and support B.C. seniors."

The winners in their respective categories are as follows:

2019 BC Care Provider of the Year (Home Health): Agnes Trylinski, Care at Home Services

2019 BC Care Provider of the Year (Long-Term Care): Crystal Clark, Brocklehurst Gemstone Care Centre (Kamloops)

2019 BC Care Provider of the Year (Assisted Living): Marilyn Kirkpatrick, Benchmark Lifestyles Incorporated (Kelowna)

2019 BC Care Provider Safety Champion: Erin Terry, Strive Living Society (Burnaby)

2019 Ed Helfrich Long Service Excellence Award: KD Riar, Willingdon Care Centre (Burnaby)

The call for nominations announced in October 2018 — the finalists were featured in recent posts available here.

The winners were selected by the Association’s Events & Recognition Committee. The awards will be presented by the Hon. Adrian Dix, Minister of Health, at a ceremony in Victoria, B.C. on February 19th, with dozens of invited guests present including B.C. MLAs, BCCPA members, Ministry of Health staff, and key stakeholders from the seniors care sector.


MEDIA CONTACT: Rumana D’Souza, BCCPA Digital Media & Communications Coordinator, (778) 681-4859, rumana@bccare.ca